top of page

Local Government

Elbert County, Georgia

Elbert County is located on 374 square miles of rolling hills along the Georgia - South Carolina border. Elbert County has a population of about 20,000 people and is surrounded on three sides by five different counties: Hart, Lincoln, Madison, Oglethorpe, and Wilkes.

Contact: 706-283-2000


City of Elberton, Georgia

Located in beautiful northeast Georgia, Elberton was incorporated on December 10, 1803, originally named "Elbertville" after General Samuel Elbert who fought in the Revolutionary War. As the county seat, Elberton is home to county government offices and other critical services, located near the center of Elbert County, 33 miles east of Athens, and 110 miles east of Atlanta.

Elberton is a hub for the area’s community events, hosting celebrations throughout the year including parades, car show, concerts, and seasonal gatherings. Elberton is also known for several attractions including granite monuments, well-maintained parks, beautiful lakes, and the legendary Granite Bowl Football Stadium.

Downtown Elberton features the Historic Elbert County Courthouse, The Elbert Theatre, The Samuel Elbert Hotel, and a variety of shops, restaurants, and local businesses.

Contact: (706) 213-3100


City of Bowman, Georgia

The City of Bowman in northwestern Elbert County was named after Thomas Jefferson Bowman. It was established with the construction of the Elberton Seaboard Air Line Railroad, whose narrow gauge track connected Elberton and Toccoa.

The railroad began in 1873 and was completed in 1878 by Bowman, who laid out the rail route, and Major John H. Jones, a prominent citizen of Elberton. A man named B. Burden, owner of vast property in the area, donated land in and around the future city for the railroad right-of-way, town square, cemetery lots, and sites for churches.

The City of Bowman was incorporated by the Georgia General Assembly in 1907. In 1910, John Judson “J.J.” Brown was elected mayor of Bowman. Brown went on to be elected to five terms as Commissioner of Agriculture in Georgia and founded the Georgia Farm Market Bulletin.

Contact: (706) 245-5432


Do you have a listing you'd like to feature on Contact us, today!


bottom of page